Get the Look: In the Buff

I’m so happy to announce that today I’ll be blogging about my first makeup tutorial! I’m so thrilled to be putting out a makeup tutorial because applying makeup is honestly one of my favorite things to do, and I want to share my techniques with you beautiful people.

Today’s blog consists of step-by-step instructions on how you can achieve the makeup look I’m wearing below.

20170126_140409  20170213_193734

I’m calling this eye makeup “in the buff” because of the nude beiges and natural browns I used in this look.

To create this look, I used Urban Decay’s Naked 2 palette. If you don’t have the Naked 2 palette, fear not; I’ll be including dupes, or similar shades, so you can rummage through your own makeup collection and find shades that are similar to the ones I used. Also, if you’re interested in buying the Naked 2 palette, read all about my opinions on the eye shadow palette here.

Without further ado, let’s get started.


How to Score “In the Buff”

Prep the Face

1. Moisturize your face. It’s crucial that you have a clean, hydrated face to start with because it’ll help with the application of makeup, and it prevents you from breaking out. I used Clean & Clear Dual Action Moisturizer because I’ve been using this product since the fifth grade, and I swear by it.

2. Prime your face. This step isn’t totally crucial, but it’s become apart of my daily routine. Face primer helps eliminate the appearance of pores. Also, those who use foundation say face primer makes applying foundation easier and gives it a smoother appearance. For this look, I took a dime-size amount of Benefit’s POREfessional Face Primer and applied it to my T-zone (forehead, nose and chin).

3. Fill in your eyebrows. If you are gifted with dark, full brows, you should totally skip this step because sometimes too bold of brows can draw attention away from the eyes. However, if you are like me and have light eyebrows, give them some definition. Personally, all you really need is eyebrow powder. Other products like eyebrow gel can make your brows look way too dark and prominent. Eyebrow powder is perfect for creating feathery, natural-looking eyebrows. I’m obsessed with NYX’s Eyebrow Cake Powder.

The Eyes

4. Prime your eyelids. Priming the eyelids makes a world of difference! Throughout the day, eyelids can get oily which causes eye shadow to crease. To prevent your eye shadow from creasing, apply eyelid primer to the lids. It’s important to note that you get what you pay for; a cheap eye primer from the drugstore may not have the same effect as an eye primer from Ulta or Sephora. I swear by Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion because my eye shadow never budges when paired with this magical formula.

5. Tape it up! If you are totally confused, I understand given not many people use tape in their daily beauty routine. I’ve been using tape for about a year now, and it’s safe to say I’m obsessed. Tape is amazing because it gives you a clean crisp line after applying eye shadow and eyeliner. Use the pictures below as references (and try to ignore the weirdness – I swear to you, tape really works).

20161215_082120  20161215_082113

6. We’re going to start with the crease and outer corner of the eye first. Take any fluffy blending brush and tap it into “Tease,” which is a matte taupe shadow. Lightly buff the color into the crease. Go in with the shade as many times as you want until you reach your desired intensity. Next, take “Snakebite,” a shimmery cool brown, and apply it to the outer corner of the eye. Make sure to blend the outer corner and crease colors together for a smooth transition.

7. Next, we’re turning our attention towards the inner-half of the eyelids. Take “Suspect,” or a shimmery cool beige, and pat it onto the inner-half of the eyelid.

8. Wing it out. I love winging out my eyeliner because it elongates my eyes. Take any liquid eyeliner, and line your upper lash line, making sure to extend the liner out. Let the tape serve as a guide. I used Loreal’s Super Slim Liquid Eyeliner to ensure that I have a flawless and crisp wing that’s so sharp it could slice a pineapple in half.

9. Once you are happy with your eyeliner, remove the tape. This part is so satisfying. You’ll be in awe over how crisp the line is.

10. Now we’re going to jump down to the lower lash line. Take “Tease,” or any matte taupe shadow, and apply it to the bottom lash line with any eye shadow brush. After, take any eyeliner and line your lower water line to give your bottom lash line definition. I used Urban Decay’s 24/7 Glide-On Eyeliner in “Demolition,” but any dark brown eyeliner will do.

11. Highlight the brow bone and inner corner of the eye. Applying a light color to the brow bone and inner corner of the eye will make your eyes look alert and awake. I applied “Foxy” (a matte vanilla) to my brow bone, and “Booty Call” (a shimmery champagne) to the inner corners of my eyes.

12. The final step: mascara. I’m obsessed with Too Faced’s Better Than Sex mascara because it makes my lashes look incredibly long. All I do is apply multiple coats to my top and bottom lashes to give my eyes that extra pop.

Finishing Up

13. After I’m done with the eyes, I use concealer. If you haven’t noticed, I don’t use foundation, and I apply concealer after I’m done with my eye makeup whereas most people do it before. First of all, I believe that if you are gifted with clear skin, you don’t need to slather foundation onto your already perfect face. I tend to breakout every once in awhile, so I like to apply concealer to my breakouts after I’m done with my eye makeup. Some eye shadow is prone to fallout, so I find it easier to apply concealer after doing my eye makeup because if I do it before I’ll just have to retouch it again. I like to apply concealer under my eyes and on any breakouts.

14. Finally, apply bronzer, highlighter and blush to your face. This step was recently featured on my blog not too long ago. You can read all about how to use highlighter, bronzer and blush right here.

15. Compliment the eyes with a taupe-based lip color. Because your eyes are going to stand out, a subtle taupe lip color will compliment the look beautifully without it looking overpowering. I’m totally in love with NYX’s Liquid Suede Lipstick in the color “Sandstorm” because of how natural, yet incredibly gorgeous it looks when paired with any eye look.

The Result…

20170126_140930


Thank you so much for reading! I hope this tutorial comes as a benefit to you. Makeup takes time and practice, so don’t worry if your makeup doesn’t look perfect the first time. Heck, I’ve been doing makeup for years, and I still mess up today! Just keep on trying, and you’ll get the hang of things.

Xx

Kara

4 thoughts on “Get the Look: In the Buff

Leave a Reply

