Go-To Makeup Look #1: Golden Smoke

Hello, lovelies!

While I wear makeup almost every single day during the school year, the summertime is a whole other story. Because I babysit Monday through Friday, I don’t really have the time or need to wear makeup, which is why I tend to play up my features on the weekends.

During the summer, I find myself gravitating towards the same couple of makeup looks because of their simplicity and guaranteed prettiness. Since I haven’t been experimenting much with my makeup this summer, I thought it’d be really cool if I blogged about three of my favorite go-to summer makeup looks this Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday leading up to my monthly must-haves blog set to go out this Thursday.

To kick of this blogging marathon, I’m going to talk about my first go-to summer makeup look, a pretty gold and chocolate eye look perfect for these warm summer months.

Enjoy 🙂


What You’ll Need

IMG_20170625_184646_085

I used the Too Faced Natural Eyes Eye Shadow Palette to score this rich golden eye look, so if you own either the Natural Eyes or Natural Love palettes, you’re all set to go. However, not everyone owns those two palettes, and that’s totally fine. You can still achieve this makeup look by finding drugstore dupes of the following shades starred in the picture above.

 

The Steps

1. Personally, I like to do my eye makeup before applying concealer and powders to my face — eye shadow fallout always ruins my under-eye concealer and cheekbone highlight. Before any eye look, I like to fill in my brows (NYX Eyebrow Cake Powder), prime my eyelids (Urban Decay Primer Potion) and apply tape to my eyes (this acts as a guide for my winged eyeliner — see image below).

20161215_082113
On a side note, I’m currently cringing at this picture — this was taken before I got better at filling in my eyebrows.

2. Whenever I do a multi-step eye look, I like to start with the crease. Using a fluffy blending brush, I buffed “Velvet Revolver” into the crease as a transition shade. Once that subtle transition shade was somewhat prominent in the most natural way possible, I took “Sexpresso” on a more concentrated blending brush and blended the color into the crease and outer-V of the eyelid. This will make the crease and outer-V much more prominent.

3. To make sure the crease isn’t too overpowering, I like to darken up the outer corner of the eyelid even more. Using a more concentrated blending brush, I applied “Cocoa Puff” to the outer-V. I also took the time to blend this color into the outer crease as well.

4. To finish off the eye lid, I took “Honey Pot” on a flat eye shadow brush and patted the color on the inner half of my eye lid until that gold shadow sparkled like a friggin’ diamond.

5. Highlighting is such a super important (and easy) step. I took a regular flat eye shadow brush and applied “Heaven” to the brow bone and inner corner of the eye.

6. After I finished the eyes, I lined my upper lash line and created a wing (Loreal Super Slim Liquid Liner), lined my lower water line (Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in “Demolition”) and loaded up my top and bottom lashes with mascara (Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara).

The Result…

20170520_132903  20170520_132909


Thank y’all so much for reading! Stay tuned tomorrow for another makeup look 🙂

Xx

Kara

Leave a Reply

