Fall Makeup Tutorial

Although winter is by far my favorite season, I just can’t seem to get enough of fall. I’m a sucker for all things autumn such as the colorful leaves on the trees, warm and creamy coffee drinks, cozy leggings and boots… lots and lots of boots.

I also love the colors associated with fall. Warm shades of orange, red, brown, brick and beige can be found in my fall wardrobe and are regularly featured in my makeup looks.

Fall makeup is by far the prettiest. I love incorporating warm colors into my makeup looks during the fall, so that’s what I want to focus on.

Today’s blog is a fall makeup tutorial that’s perfect to wear on a trip to the cider mill or during a crisp, cool day of classes. I’m going to be using a few makeup palettes that you may not own, but I’ll be sure to give a description of the colors I’ll be using in this look so you all can find dupes.

Enjoy 🙂


What You’ll Need

Here’s a list of the exact products I used…

  • Urban Decay Naked Smoky Eye Shadow Palette
    • Color(s): “Dirty Sweet”
  • Too Faced Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar Eye Shadow Palette
    • Color(s): “Peanut Butter,” “Truffled” and “Coconut Creme”

 

… and here’s a list of dupes you can find

  • Dupe for “Dirty Sweet”
    • Any cool toned metallic or shimmery gold eye shadow
  • Dupe for “Peanut Butter”
    • A warm matte orange eye shadow
  • Dupe for “Truffled”
    • Any warm brown eye shadow will work just fine, preferably a matte or satin finish
  • Dupe for “Coconut Creme”
    • A matte off-white shadow

In addition to eye shadow, I used brow powder, brow pencil, liquid eye liner, pencil eye liner, mascara, bronzer, blush, highlight and lipstick. I’m going to tell you the specific products I used for this look, but I encourage you all to use products you’re familiar with.

The Play-By-Play

1. After I moisturize my face, I always start by filling in my eyebrows. First, I like to fill in my brows using NYX’s Eyebrow Cake Powder. Then, I use L’Oreal’s Brow Stylist Definer to pencil in sparse areas like my brow arch and the inner half of my eye brows.

2. To ensure my eye shadow stays put all day, I primed my eyelids using Urban Decay Primer Potion in “Original.” Also, I applied tape to the sides of eyes to guarantee a crisp, clean line after applying my eye shadow and eyeliner.

3. I switched up my eye makeup routine a few days ago by highlighting my brow bone first. To give my brow bone an extra pop, I used “Coconut Creme” as a matte highlight.

4. Using any kind of crease brush, I buffed “Peanut Butter” into my crease. This serves as a transition shade for darker colors.

5. To intensify the crease and add some color to the outer corner of my eyelids, I took “Truffled” on a more concentrated blending brush and blended the shade directly into the crease and the outer-V of my eyelids.

6. Because the outer half of my eyelids were filled with dark pigments, I wanted to lighten up the inner half with a warm fall-inspired shade. Taking “Dirty Sweet” on a flat shadow brush, I applied the color to the inner half of my eyelids and blended the shade accordingly.

7.  This makeup look wouldn’t be complete without a killer cat eye. I used L’Oreal’s Super Slim Liquid Liner to create a bold wing. After, I removed the tape.

8. In order to balance out the intensity of your top lash line, you need to add some color to the bottom. I smoked out my bottom lash line by blending “Truffled” below the water line. Then, I dragged Urban Decay’s 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in “Demolition” along my water line to make my bottom lash line much more defined.

9. To complete my eye look, I loaded my top and bottom lashes up with L’Oreal’s Lash Paradise Mascara — a very inexpensive dupe for Too Faced’s Better Than Sex Mascara.

10. Finally, I used Benefit’s Hoola Bronzer to contour my face, applied Too Faced’s Love Flush Blush in “Confetti” to the apples of my cheeks and topped everything off by highlighting my cheek bones, cupid’s bow and bridge of the nose with Stila eye shadow in the shade “Kitten.”

11. No look would be complete without a gorgeous lip shade. To give my look some extra fall vibes, I mixed two NYX Liquid Suede Matte Lipsticks in the colors “Brooklyn Throne” and “Soft Spoken” to create a pretty brick lip shade that’s perfect for fall.

The Result

20171003_100052


Thank you all so much for reading. I wish I could give you all a million hugs for being so patient with me during my mini hiatus. My sophomore year of college has been very stressful, and a number of events have really taken a huge toll on me.

Nevertheless, I’m persisting. I’m learning to make the best out of crappy situations, and I’ve been taking this time to really love and appreciate myself. Sometime in the near future I plan to publish a blog about loving yourself and my journey with self-love, so expect that blog very soon!

And that brings me to my next topic: blogs. At this point, I’m still trying to manage classes, extracurriculars and a social life, so blogs will be published whenever I have the opportunity. Sometimes I’ll publish two blogs in a week, other times only one. Right now I’m playing things by ear and still trying to establish my schedule, so thank you for bearing with me.

Xx

Kara

Leave a Reply

